But Thap Pagoda is situated on the dike of the Duong River, Thuan Thanh
district, Bac Ninh province.
The pagoda was built in the 17th century, during the late Le dynasty. Its
founder was Chinese Buddhist Priest Zhus Zhus, who died in 1644. Queen
Mother Trinh Thi Ngoc Truc requested that Lord Trinh Trang enlarged the
pagoda in 1646.
The pagoda was built according to "Noi Cong Ngoai Quoc" architectural
style, and includes 10 buildings spread over 100 meters, from the
three-entrance gate to the bell-tower and back house. Two 13-m towers, Ton
Duc and Bao Nghiem, are made of white rock, making the pagoda seem higher,
more majestic and peaceful. Some remains of the 17th century are kept here
such as statues, valuable donations, Nine-Story Lotus Tower, Tuyet Son
statue, Bao Nghiem tower, and Xa Ly tomb.
The last renovations of the structure were carried out in 1992.
Phat Tich Pagoda, where Buddhist monks were trained in the past, is
located on Mount Phat Tich, in Phuong Hoang commune, Bac Ninh province.
The pagoda, also called Van Phuc Pagoda, was built between the 7th and
10th centuries, and underwent several transformations throughout the
years. It was first renovated during the Ly dynasty. In 1057, King Ly Thai
Tong had a tower erected and a golden statue made. Later in the 17th
century, the pagoda was enlarged. Unfortunately, the pagoda was ravaged by
the war in 1947 and was rebuilt in a simpler style in 1958. However, since
1991, the pagoda has been reconstructed following ancient architectural
Among the remains of the pagoda is a statue of Lord Buddha. The columns
are decorated with intricately carved lotus flowers and various types of
traditional musical instruments.
Dinh Bang Communal House, located in Dinh Bang village, Tien Son district,
in Bac Ninh province, 20 km from Hanoi, is very famous in the north of the
country. Construction started in 1700 and finished in 1736. The house is a
place of worship for three tutelary spirits: Cao Son Dai Vuong, God of
land, Thuy Ba Dai Vuong, God of water, and Bach Le Dai Vuong, God of
harvest. The main part of the communal house, Bai Duong, is rectangular,
20 m long, 14 m wide, and consists of 7 rooms. It is very imposing due to
its large roof and ironwood pillars. There are approximately 60 ironwood
pillars with diameters ranging from 55 to 65 cm. The design of the
components is very complicated and the structure is very sturdy. There is
a panel inscribed with Chinese characters that can be read in Vietnamese
as "Bat Ma Quan Phi," which means "Eight Running Horses."
Do paper village, Do temple dedicated to the Ly Kings.